San Diego Symphony, Rafael Payare, and Alisa Weilerstein at Carnegie Hall


Stern Auditorium/Perelman Stage at Carnegie Hall

Artists and Repertoire

Rafael Payare, conductor
Alisa Weilerstein, cello

CARLOS SIMON: Wake Up: A Concerto for Orchestra (New York Premiere, Lead commission by San Diego Symphony)
ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK: Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104
DMITRI SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 5 in D minor, Op. 47


The San Diego Symphony and Rafael Payare, conductor, return to Carnegie Hall on Friday, October 13, 2023. The program features the New York Premiere of a San Diego Symphony commission by composer Carlos Simon, Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5 — part of the Orchestra’s ongoing exploration of the composer’s symphonies — and Dvořák’s celebrated Cello Concerto with soloist Alisa Weilerstein.

  • SDSO Coast to Coast

Choose a date below to see details.

Time 8 p.m.
Venue Carnegie Hall
Ticket Price --

Purchase from Carnegie Hall

San Diego Symphony Returning to NYC's Carnegie Hall!

Carnegie Hall